Scandinavian Style Spey Casting

H

humber123

Do any members of Team SpeyCast use this style (with up to 15ft leaders)?

If so, what circumstances dictate their choice?

Also, do you use it in Scottish Rivers or abroad?

humber123

Editor

The Salmon Atlas
Question

Apologies but Eoin travelling and has no access to computer at the moment.

Will respond to this asap.

Admin

zekafly

Does that means UNDERHAND SPEY CASTING?

I am new in it,and wery curious about it also.WIll take some lessons here at Balkans,from a guy,instructor,who perfectly deal with that tehnique.

Editor

The Salmon Atlas
The "underhand" refers to the bottom hand which in the underhand cast plays the dominant role both in manoeuvring the rod tip and providing the power in the final cast. In the traditional spey cast the top hand sweeps the rod around more and often provides the majority of the casting power at the end more like a throw (though - pulling in with the underhand is important too).

I think modern spey casting is almost a marriage of the two styles and all the better for it!

Regards

Colin.

Hey Humber

I have to admit that I switch back and forth between styles according to fishing conditions. I love the Scandinavian style heads for fishing with restricted space behind me (say 10 ft or less), and for smaller rivers. I also have to say that I use the AFS scandinavian heads for practically all my demonstrations and for teaching these days. There isn't a style of line that is easier to learn speyc asting with than these, and there isn't a line style that will cast such tight, sweet loops either.

I'll go to mid length and long belly lines on bigger rivers and when I have plenty of D-loop space behind.

Cheers for now
Simon

Editor

The Salmon Atlas
I couldn't agree more Simon.