Upstream/Downstream wind and River Right and River Left

speydreamer

I'm very new to the world of Spey and simply loving it. I'm familiar with the mechanics of Single, Double, Snap T/ Circle C, Perry Poke and Snake Roll casts. I have a 13ft 8wt rod with a Skagit Flight head and 12ft sinktip looped on to the end.

I feel a bit daft because I can't get my head around Upstream and Downstream winds combined with River Left or River right. I just seem to have mental block on it. I know the basic safety precaution of making sure that the fly is not blowing at me but that's it.

I get loads of technical stuff but this one just twists my mind - sorry, a bit embarrassed!!!

Can someone help me?

Cheers
Chris

SingleMalt

I'm very new to the world of Spey and simply loving it. I'm familiar with the mechanics of Single, Double, Snap T/ Circle C, Perry Poke and Snake Roll casts. I have a 13ft 8wt rod with a Skagit Flight head and 12ft sinktip looped on to the end.

I feel a bit daft because I can't get my head around Upstream and Downstream winds combined with River Left or River right. I just seem to have mental block on it. I know the basic safety precaution of making sure that the fly is not blowing at me but that's it.

I get loads of technical stuff but this one just twists my mind - sorry, a bit embarrassed!!!

Can someone help me?

Cheers
Chris

The key to remembering all of this is to understand:

1. You choose bank looking downstream. i.e. the left bank is the one on your left when you look downstream. - I'm sure you know this but many people dont!

2. Downstream wind = downstream final loop
(the wind helps create the loop)

3. Upstream wind = upstream final loop
(the wind helps create the loop)

4. Being left or right handed takes no part in the decision!

5. If there is little or no wind - do whatever you like best!